Pork and Pickles

These are a few of my favorite things

Roasted Tomato Sauce

2 Comments

I’m still recovering from Friday’s grape and berry picking and the subsequent jam-a-palooza. I’ll have a post on it soon, don’t worry! In the meantime, I spent my evening yesterday making roasted tomato sauce. Okay, I really spent about 20 minutes making roasted tomato sauce, but it sounds much more blogworthy if I claim to have spent the entire evening on it. Right?

Kat at A Good Appetite put up a post about her oven roasted tomato sauce about a week ago and I thought it’d be a great way to deal with our glut of CSA tomatoes. I made up a small batch early in the week and simmered it with some browned pork sausage and then added to pasta for a fantastic dinner. It was so good I knew I had to make more soon! Since my original plans for yesterday had taken a backseat to a nasty headache and my tiny amount of counter space had been taken over by this week’s tomato haul, it was time to make tomato sauce.

I cut the gigantic tomatoes into eighths and the smaller ones were quartered or halved. The two cherry tomatoes from my sad plants were left whole. The tomatoes, a few peeled garlic cloves, and a large onion (cut into chunks) all went onto two sheet pans and were mixed with olive oil, salt, and pepper. Into a 350° oven they went, for about an hour.

I don’t recommend filling the pans this full, but I had a LOT of tomatoes.

Once the onions had begun to caramelize around the edges and the roasted garlic had spread its perfume throughout the house, I pulled the pans out of the oven. I left them to cool for a few minutes and then everything went into the blender.

This is about what done looks like. I could have let them go longer but I was impatient.

After a few minutes of blending I had 12.5 cups of this delicious tomato sauce, which I put into the freezer for later use. I’m thinking it’d make a killer baked pasta dish, with some penne, spinach, and mozzarella. Or reduced a bit and used for pizza sauce, or to sauce eggplant or chicken parmigiana. Oh man, so many ideas! I think I’m going to need another batch of this stuff.

Into the freezer with these babies.

Author: Jess

Cook, music lover, cyclist, knitter.

2 thoughts on “Roasted Tomato Sauce

  1. My CSA had a recipe for roasted tomato and sweet pepper soup in our newsletter this week, and I was all set to make that. But now I want to make this. Such a terrible dilemma.

  2. Oooooo, this looks SO GOOD. I may be making this myself now. Thanks for the great post!

Leave a Reply

