Pork and Pickles

These are a few of my favorite things

COOK ALL THE FOODS

Leave a comment

I am in “COOK ALL THE FOODS” mode today, it would seem. I’ve been craving winter squash lately and stumbled across my favorite pumpkin cake recipe, so I’ve got a pie pumpkin and a butternut squash in the oven right now.

Also in the works: this Puerto Rican-style black bean recipe. My friend Sonya posted the link on Facebook the other day and *raved* about it, so of course I had to try it. Bonus: it calls for bacon fat or lard, both of which I have plenty of. Extra flavor and nutrition on top of what looks to be a fantastic dish. We’ll see if the kids go for it for dinner tonight. If not, we’ve got hot dogs. They’ll survive.

And finally, I found a small ham while inventorying the freezer the other day. I just threw it in the crockpot with a few chopped small apples (roughly equivalent to one reglar-sized apple), a cinnamon stick, a tiny bit of brown sugar, and a splash of water. I’ll probably eat this with breakfast and maybe on sandwiches over the next few days.

I’ll be back with more tomato posts in a few days – I still have a whole bunch to can. Whee.

Author: Jess

Cook, music lover, cyclist, knitter.

Leave a Reply

